Skip to main content
Powered by rSchoolToday
Advertise With Us
 News Article
Team Of Distinction Induction

On Friday, October 12th, the 1977 and 1978 East High School State Champion Boys Track teams were honored with Lincoln East’s Team of Distinction award.  This award was created to recognize outstanding teams from Lincoln East’s storied athletic past. In 1990, the East High Hall of Fame was initiated to recognize outstanding individual achievements and--to date--more than 70 student-athletes, coaches, and contributors have received this honor.

The ’77 and ’78 teams, coached by Bob Eyth, captured back-to-back titles and team members won three all-class gold medals. Coach Eyth and assistant coach Ed McPherren joined a number of their former team members for a reception and ceremony held in conjunction with the varsity football game between the Spartans and Millard West. 

Members of the teams attending included:
Coach Bob Eyth
Ed McPherron
Brian Coyne
Brian Dunnigan
Dave Hamann
Dana Childs
Tom Coyne
Tim McCashland
Rich Teel